Milkweed National Fiction Prize

The Milkweed National Fiction Prize is judged by the editors, and awarded to a writer not previously published by the press. Previous winners include Susan Straight, Ken Kalfus, Larry Watson, David Rhodes, Matthew Eck, and Danielle Sosin.



Submissions should adhere to Milkweed’s fiction submission guidelines. Manuscripts should be one of the following: a novel, a collection of short stories, one or more novellas, or a combination of short stories and one or more novellas. Work previously published as a book in the United States is not eligible, but individual stories or novellas previously published in magazines or anthologies are eligible. Milkweed Editions welcomes submissions from international authors. Manuscripts that have been submitted previously to Milkweed Editions should not be resubmitted. Milkweed Editions reserves the right not to award the prize for any given year.



• 2013 Apology by Jon Pineda
• 2011 The Long-Shining Waters by Danielle Sosin
• 2010 Orion You Came and You Took All My Marbles by Kira Henehan
• 2008 Driftless by David Rhodes
• 2007 The Farther Shore by Matthew Eck
• 2006 Visigoth by Gary Amdahl
• 2005 Crossing Bully Creek by Margaret Erhart
• 2004 Ordinary Wolves by Seth Kantner
• 2002 Roofwalker by Susan Power
• 2001 Hell's Bottom, Colorado by Laura Pritchett
• 1999 Falling Dark by Tim Tharp
• 1998 Tivolem by Victor Rangel-Ribeiro
• 1997 The Tree of Red Stars by Tessa Bridal
• 1996 The Empress of One by Faith Sullivan
• 1995 Confidence of the Heart by David Schweidel
• 1993 Montana 1948 by Larry Watson
• 1992 Larabi's Ox by Tony Ardizzone
• 1990 Aquaboogie by Susan Straight
• 1989 Blue Taxis by Eileen Drew
• 1988 Ganado Red by Susan Lowell


Find Us Online

Sign Up For Our Email Newsletter
Download 2014 Catalog


.@LAReviewofBooks offers a fascinating retrospective of 3 poets on their 4th books, incl. @adalimon's forthcoming:

.@guardian says the #ManBooker2015 longlist is "the triumph of the new and diverse." Read on:

Read Mike Bazzett's "The Taxidermist & the Cloud" (via @coppernickel) today on @versedailypoems @MikhailBazharov |

Read the buzz

all books
the fiction
the nonfiction
young readers

scroll left scroll right

Contact Us
© 2015 Milkweed Editions, a nonprofit, literary publisher. All Rights Reserved.
This website was made possible through the generosity of our donors.

Site by Firebrand, LLC
Site design by Maloney Design Studio