The Windows of Brimnes

The Windows of Brimnes: An American in Iceland
Nonfiction

The Windows of Brimnes

An American in Iceland
“Bracing, shocking, a jolt of literary frisson.” —SAN DIEGO UNION TRIBUNE
Share this title 

Poet, musician, wit, and polemicist—Bill Holm is one of kind. A Minnesotan of Icelandic ancestry, his travels have taken him all over the world, providing material for a number of rich and memorable books.

In this, his most ambitious work to date—a book “as forceful, insightful, and lyrical as ever” (Los Angeles Times)—Holm repairs to Brimnes, his fisherman’s cottage on the shore of a fjord in northern Iceland. Looking west from this place of seemingly endless and kaleidoscopic light, and surrounded by little more than the sound of the sea and the birds beyond his windows, he considers America—“my home, my citizenship, my burden.”

In the tradition of Walt Whitman and Henry Thoreau, The Windows of Brimnes offers a singular perspective that is at once incisive and amusing, provocative and congenial.

ISBN:
978-1-57131-310-2
Publish Date: 
11/01/2008
Pages: 
248
Size: 
5.5 × 8.5 × 0.63 in
Weight: 
11.5 oz
Author

Praise and Prizes

Blog Post