Marilyn Hacker

Marilyn Hacker is the author of fourteen books of poems, including Blazons and A Stranger’s Mirror (longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award), a collaborative book, Diaspo/ Renga, written with Deema K. Shehabi, and an essay collection, Unauthorized Voices. Her eighteen translations of French and Francophone poets include Samira Negrouche’s The Olive Trees’ Jazz, Jean-Paul de Dadelsen’s That Light, All at Once, and Claire Malroux’s Daybreak. She is a former editor of the Kenyon Review, and of the French literary journal Siècle 21. She received the 2009 PEN Award for Poetry in Translation for Marie Etienne’s King of a Hundred Horsemen, the 2010 PEN Voelcker Award for her own work, and the international Argana Prize for Poetry from the Beit as-Sh’ir/ House of Poetry in Morocco in 2011. She lives in Paris.

Books by Marilyn Hacker

Marilyn Hacker and Karthika Naïr

Poets and friends Marilyn Hacker and Karthika Naïr—living mere miles from each other but separated by lockdown, and inspired by this extraordinary time—began a correspondence in verse.

Submit a question to Marilyn Hacker

Submit Now

You Might Enjoy