Milkweed Editions publishes 20-30 books per year of nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and translation. We believe that literature has the potential to change the way we see the world, and that bringing new voices to essential conversations is the clearest path to ensuring a vibrant, diverse, and empowered future. To learn more about Milkweed Editions and the work we champion, read our story»


Milkweed Editions is not currently open to unsolicited submissions. We will make an announcement via our newsletter and update this page if plans change.

Milkweed Editions Prizes

Milkweed Editions participates in the following annual poetry prizes, all of which include a cash prize and publication by Milkweed Editions:

  • BALLARD SPAHR PRIZE FOR POETRY: supports outstanding poets from the upper Midwest and brings their work to a national stage. Expanding on the Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry, which was established in 2011, this prize awards $10,000 and publication by Milkweed Editions to a poet residing in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, or Michigan. 2023 marks the final year of activity for this prize.  Read more»
  • JAKE ADAM YORK POETRY PRIZE: an annual prize for a first or second collection, presented in partnership by Milkweed Editions and Copper Nickel. The prize awards $2,000 and publication by Milkweed Editions. Submissions to the prize are open annually from July 1–October 15. Please do not send manuscripts to Milkweed Editions—instead, please refer to Copper Nickel’s submission guidelines for complete details.
  • MAX RITVO POETRY PRIZE: Designed to honor the legacy of one of the most original and accomplished poets to emerge in recent years—and to reward outstanding poets for years to come—the Max Ritvo Poetry Prize is the most lucrative first-book prize in the U.S. Presented in partnership with the Alan B. Slifka Foundation, the prize awards $10,000 and publication to the author of a debut collection of poems. This prize is currently paused.  Review complete guidelines and submit»
  • NATIONAL POETRY SERIES: Milkweed Editions is one of five participating publishers in the National Poetry Series, which was established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry. Five winners are selected each year, and each receives a prize of $10,000 and publication. Submissions are open annually from January 1–February 28. Learn more and submit at