Jon Pineda

Jon Pineda

Jon Pineda is the author of Apology, which won the Milkweed National Fiction Prize in 2013. He is also author of the memoir Sleep in Me, which was a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection and a Library Journal “Best Books of 2010” selection. His collections of poems include Little Anodynes, selected by Nikky Finney for the Palmetto Poetry Series, The Translator’s Diary, winner of the 2007 Green Rose Prize from New Issues, and Birthmark, selected by Ralph Burns as winner of the 2003 Crab Orchard Series in Poetry Open Competition. Winner of the 2016 Library of Virginia Literary Award, his writing has appeared in numerous literary journals and anthologies, including Prairie Schooner, Gulf Coast, Poetry Northwest, and elsewhere. A core faculty member in the low-residency MFA program at Queens University of Charlotte, he also teaches at the University of Mary Washington.

Library of Virginia Literary Award
Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection
Palmetto Poetry Series Selection
Green Rose Prize
Crab Orchard Series in Poetry Open Competition Winner

Books by Jon Pineda

Jon Pineda

When Tom Serafino’s twin sister, Teagan, suffers a debilitating brain injury, a police investigation implicates his playmate’s uncle, Shoe. Innocent of the crime but burdened by his own childhood tragedy, Shoe takes the blame—inviting the question of whether a lie born from resignation, fear, and love can transform tragedy into hope.

You Might Enjoy