Blog Posts tagged with "National Poetry Series"

8 Posts

Awards & Prizes

Ava Nathaniel Winter wins 2023 National Poetry Series

Milkweed Staff — 09/25/2023

We are thrilled to announce that Ava Nathaniel Winter has been named one of five winners of the 2023 National Poetry Series. Her manuscript Transgenesis was selected by poet Sean Hill and will be published by Milkweed Editions in August 2024. In addition to publication, Winter will receive $10,000.

Ava Nathaniel Winter is the author of a poetry chapbook, Safe House. Her poetry has appeared in The Baffler, Beloit Poetry Journal, Poetry International, Room, TriQuarterly, and elsewhere. She served as a Stadler Fellow at Bucknell University and received an Individual Excellence Award from the Ohio Arts Council. Ava holds an M.F.A…

Awards & Prizes

Courtney Bush Wins 2022 National Poetry Series

Milkweed Staff — 09/28/2022


We are thrilled to announce that Courtney Bush has been named one of five winners of the 2022 National Poetry Series. Her manuscript I Love Information was selected by poet Brian Teare and will be published here at Milkweed Editions in August 2023. In addition to publication, Bush will receive $10,000.

Courtney Bush is a poet and filmmaker from the Mississippi Gulf Coast. She is the author of the chapbook Isn’t This Nice? (blush_lit, 2019), and the full-length poetry collection Every Book Is About The Same Thing (Newest York Arts Press, 2022). Her films, made with collaborators Jake Goicoechea and Will Carington, have been…

Awards & Prizes

Noʻu Revilla Wins 2021 National Poetry Series

Milkweed Staff — 09/27/2021

We are thrilled to announce that Noʻu Revilla has been named one of five winners of the National Poetry Series for 2021. Her manuscript Ask the Brindled was selected by Milkweed poet Rick Barot and will be published in August 2022. In addition to publication, Revilla will receive $10,000.

Noʻu Revilla is an ʻŌiwi (Native Hawaiian) queer poet and educator. Born and raised in Waiʻehu on the island of Maui, she currently lives and loves in the valley of Pālolo on the island of Oʻahu. Her work has been featured or is forthcoming in Poetry, Literary Hub, Anomaly, Beloit

Authors / News / Awards & Prizes

Devon Walker-Figueroa Wins 2020 National Poetry Series

Milkweed Staff — 10/14/2020

We are thrilled to announce that Devon Walker-Figueroa has been named one of five winners of the National Poetry Series for 2020. Her manuscript Philomath was selected by Milkweed poet Sally Keith and will be published in September 2021. In addition to publication, Walker-Figueroa will receive $10,000.

Devon Walker-Figueroa is a writer, editor, and erstwhile professional ballet dancer who grew up in Kings Valley (a ghost town in the Oregon Coast Range). A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and the 2018 recipient of New England Review’s Emerging Writer Award, Walker-Figueroa has published poems in such journals as the American Poetry Review, …


Once You’ve Seen into Heaven, How Do You Forget That? On the Opioid Epidemic and I Know Your Kind

William Brewer — 08/29/2017

I saw the opiate epidemic start to swallow up my home. It worked quickly and indiscriminately. Each trip back was met with news of a different friend using, or in rehab, or dealing, or in jail, or worse. But it was only after a very specific moment that I became committed to writing this book, a moment of initial frustration within myself.

News / Submissions

Submissions Open in 2017!

Milkweed Staff — 12/06/2016

As 2016 comes to a close, our staff is eagerly looking to 2017—and new submissions periods! In order to facilitate a timely response, we will open separately for each genre. Additionally, Milkweed Editions participates in three annual poetry prizes—two of which offer $10,000 purses: the Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry, the National Poetry Series, and (in collaboration with Copper Nickel) the Jake Adam York Prize. For complete guidelines and access to our Submittable page, hop over to our submissions page: