About Us

Milkweed Editions
A Nonprofit Literary Press

Milkweed Editions is an independent publisher of literary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. Our mission is to identify, nurture, and publish transformative literature, and build an engaged community around it.

As a 501(c)3 nonprofit, our work is made possible by the generosity of sustaining funders and readers like you.
We are profoundly grateful.

Staff Directory

Founded in Minneapolis in 1980, Milkweed Editions is one of the nation’s leading independent publishers of literature. Operating as a nonprofit organization empowers us to acquire titles on the basis of artistic excellence and transformative potential, and to invest significant resources in developing writers’ work and bringing it to a wide audience—engaging local, national, and international communities in the kind of conversation facilitated uniquely by literature.

We currently publish some twenty titles each year in the categories of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Our list is acclaimed for its originality and its variety. Our books and authors have earned numerous awards and distinctions, including two Nobel Prizes for Literature, three Lannan Literary Awards, six Whiting Awards, four American Book Awards, eight New York Times Book Review Notable Books of the Year, and fifteen Minnesota Book Awards. In 2015 alone, we had finalists for the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

There are more than 300 Milkweed titles in print, and nearly 4 million copies of our books currently in circulation. Since 2010, we have published our books simultaneously in sustainably produced print and ebook editions, and we now have some 150 titles available in ebook format. We enhance the publication of each new title with original digital content, made available on our website and on other online platforms.

Board of Directors

Chris Crosby, Chair
Lynn Abrahamsen, Vice Chair
Bill Hogle, Treasurer
Hart Kuller, Secretary

Keith Bednarowski  |  Jack Dempsey |  Veena Deo  |  Pamela Fletcher |  Geoff Gothro  |  Phillip Hampton  |  Ned Hancock  |  Hart Kuller |  Peter Laird  |  Chris Malecek |  Shawn Monaghan |  Kate Moos  |  Sheila Morgan  |  Shelly Gill Murray  |  Matt Murphy  |  Emily Nicoll  |  Jörg Pierach |  Janet Polli  |  Mary Reyelts  |  Daniel Slager, Publisher & CEO  |  Nell Smith  |  Stephen Spencer  |  

The leadership giving program of Milkweed Editions
The Editor’s Circle
Metamorphosis Campaign & Author Advance Fund

Milkweed Editions raised $1.6M dollars in the multi-year Metamorphosis Campaign which concluded in 2015. $1.1M was raised to transform the press for the digital era of publishing and to increase cash reserves, and $500K was raised to create the Author Advance Fund, a revolving fund dedicated solely to providing advances for authors. Thank you to the generous donors who made these initiatives possible.


Institutional Funders

Milkweed Editions gratefully acknowledges sustaining support from the Ballard Spahr Foundation; the Jerome Foundation; the McKnight Foundation; the National Endowment for the Arts; the Target Foundation; and other generous contributions from foundations and corporations. Our activity is also made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a Minnesota State Arts Board Operating Support grant, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund, and a grant from Wells Fargo.

Financial Responsibility

Respecting the privacy of our supporters is very important to us, and we follow a strict donor privacy policy that pertains to the collection of personal information, both online and offline, about our donors.

Further, we are audited every year by an independent accounting firm.
You can access our most recent (2017) audit report and Form 990 below.